david3 I hadn’t thought that they would treat the two differently. In my mind, if I’m indicating, whether by using the Escape key, clicking the “X” or using the “Continue to forum” button, that I want the thing to get lost, that the developers would have designed it to respect that. This is just an annoyance for no reason or benefit, and there is no reason I should have to follow tags to avoid that altogether.
I have followed your suggestion, which seems to have worked for now, so thanks for that. However, I have a suspicion that it will be back the next time I log in, which means that I will still have to dismiss the thing at least once per visit; not nearly as bad, but still unnecessary.
EDIT: So far it hasn’t re-appeared, so that appears to be solved; thanks.